Pickleball Rules- The Line is Good
It’s true that a ball that hits the line is good. In other words, the line is considered part of the court. But it’s not that simple.
Do you know that a ball contacting the playing surface outside of the baseline or sideline, (the kitchen line on the serve is a different rule) even though the edge of the ball overlaps the line, is considered out of bounds?
The ball doesn’t compress like a tennis ball, to touch the surface of the court + the line + the outside of the court all at one time.
So, if it touches only the line it is good.
If it touches the line plus the surface inside the court it is good.
If it’s simply overhanging the line, because the ball doesn’t compress like a tennis ball, and is actually outside of the court, it is a fault.
This is a fine distinction, one requiring a good eye and perfect positioning to see and feel sure you can make the call. The angle of which you see the ball and the line alters perception and judgment on these calls.
In friendly games, we are pretty generous in letting most balls that touch any part of the line be considered good.
Still a little confused? Watch the Video
Bev writes a weekly email blast for our pickleball club. She delivers the rules with clarity and a sense of humor. If you have a rules question post it in the comments below.
Like what you see?
Subscribe to the free newsletter today for more exclusive pickleball tips.