Rule Review: That’s Handy
Perhaps unique to pickleball, a ball can be hit twice, bounced on your paddle, or “carried,” as long as this occurs during a continuous motion in a single direction.
The ball can also hit your paddle hand and still be returned legally. In fact, the ball doesn’t need to hit the paddle at all as long as it hits only your paddle hand below the wrist. If you are executing a two-handed return shot, the ball may hit either of your hands below the wrist.
These are very permissive rules, but I wouldn’t count on practicing those shots. They are usually clumsy flukes, nothing to be proud of.
Bev writes a weekly email blast for our pickleball club. She delivers the rules with clarity and a sense of humor. If you have a rules question post it in the comments below.
Like what you see?
Subscribe to the free newsletter today for more exclusive pickleball tips.