CJ Johnson Headshot
CJ Johnson
Tony Roig
Tony Roig

Pickleball Rules – The Horizontal Bar near the Bottom of the Net

pickleball net-the stabilizing barWho hasn’t hit the bar at the bottom of the net? LOL!!

The stabilizing bar along the lower part of our collapsible nets can cause some problems. Here is what the latest IFP rules say:

1. If the ball hits the horizontal bar before going over the net, it is a fault against the player who hit it.

2. Other than on the serve, if the ball goes over the net and hits the center base or any part of the horizontal bar or the ball gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar before, or after, touching the court, it is a let and will be replayed.

3. On the serve, if the ball hits the horizontal bar or the center base or gets caught between the net and horizontal bar after going over the net, it is a fault.

So after you are done laughing from such an unusual point, you make the call.

Thanks, Bev!

Bev writes a weekly email blast for our pickleball club. She delivers the rules with clarity and a sense of humor. If you have a rules question post it in the comments below.




  1. Avatar photo ray dimeo on March 25, 2022 at 6:25 pm

    If you hit a ball in the air (it has not bounced) at the kitchen line(you are not in the kit) and after the ball bounces on the other side of the court twice you then fall into the kitchen why is that a fault on your part. Seems like a crazy rule; after the second bounce the play should be dead. So when is the play actually dead.

    • Avatar photo CJ Johnson on March 27, 2022 at 9:31 am

      Hi Ray, the number of bounces is irrelevant. The player must re-established themselves (regained their balance) outside of the NVZ.

Leave a Comment

Like what you see?

Subscribe to the free newsletter today for more exclusive pickleball tips.