Rules Review: Don’t Stop Playing Before a Legitimate Call
A ball is not out of bounds until it actually lands outside of the court.
If a player yells “out” before the ball hits the ground, that “noise” is considered cross-talk between players. It is not a valid call. It may prove to be right, or it may not. But don’t stop playing.
If you stop when someone yells prematurely, and the ball lands inbounds, you lose. The rules do not provide for do-overs.
Bev writes a weekly email blast for our pickleball club. She delivers the rules with clarity and a sense of humor. If you have a rules question post it in the comments below.
Like what you see?
Subscribe to the free newsletter today for more exclusive pickleball tips.